Delete a conversation via the website using ‘Delete conversation’ or in the app via the information icon and ‘Delete’. The conversation will only disappear from your inbox; other participants will continue to see the messages. Deleted messages cannot be recovered.
How do you delete a chat message?
Would you like to tidy up your inbox or simply delete a conversation? In this article, we explain step by step how to do this.
Via the website
Step 1: Open the conversation
Go to the chat you want to delete. This could be a private conversation with a neighbour or a chat group.
Step 2: Click ‘Delete conversation’ on the right
The conversation and messages will be deleted for you. The other participants can still see them. If someone sends a new message, the conversation will appear in your iinbox again, without the previous messages.
Step 3: Select ‘Delete’
Click the Delete option. The entire conversation will then be permanently deleted from your inbox.
Important to know
- You can only delete your own messages, not those of other participants.
- Once deleted, messages cannot be recovered.
- The other participants in the conversation can still see your messages after you have deleted the conversation for yourself.
Via the app
Step 1: Open the conversation
Go to the chat you want to delete. This could be a private conversation with a neighbour or a chat group.
Step 2: The icon with the letter i
Click the round icon with the letter i at the top right
Step 3: Select ‘Delete’
Click the Delete option. The entire conversation will then be permanently deleted from your inbox.
Important to know
- You can only delete your own messages, not those of other participants.
- Once deleted, messages cannot be recovered.
- The other participants in the conversation can still see your messages after you have deleted the conversation for yourself.