How do you delete a chat conversation?

Delete a conversation via the website using “Delete conversation,” or in the app via the icon with the letter i and then “Delete.” Messages cannot be retrieved afterward and remain visible to other participants.

Do you want to clean up your inbox or simply delete one conversation? In this article, we’ll explain step by step how to do this.


 

Via the website

Step 1: Open the conversation

Go to the chat you want to delete. This can be a private conversation with a neighbor or a group chat.

Step 2: Click “Delete conversation” on the right

The conversation and messages will be deleted for you. The other participants can still see them. If someone sends a new message, the conversation will appear in your inbox again, without the earlier messages.

Step 3: Select “Delete”

Click the Delete option. The entire conversation will then be permanently deleted from your inbox.

Important to know

  • You can only delete your own messages, not those of other participants.
  • Once deleted, messages cannot be retrieved.
  • The other participants in the conversation can still see your messages after you delete the conversation for yourself.
Via the app

Step 1: Open the conversation

Go to the chat you want to delete. This can be a private conversation with a neighbor or a group chat.

Step 2: The icon with the letter i

Click the round icon with the letter i in the top right

Step 3: Select “Delete”

Click the Delete option. The entire conversation will then be permanently deleted from your inbox.

Important to know

  • You can only delete your own messages, not those of other participants.
  • Once deleted, messages cannot be retrieved.
  • The other participants in the conversation can still see your messages after you delete the conversation for yourself.

 

(Last updated on: 10/29/2026)

Articles in this section See more